Fechar menu lateral

41st EARIE Annual Conference | 29-31 August 2014 | Milan, Italy

41st EARIE Annual Conference | 29-31 August 2014 | Milan, Italy



Invitation & Call for Papers





  Bocconi University is very pleased to organise the 41st Annual Conference of the European Association for Research in Industrial Economics (EARIE) that will take place 29 to 31 August 2014, in Milan, Italy. 



The EARIE Annual Conference provides a yearly platform for delegates and members to present and discuss the latest research in the wider field of industrial economics. This popular international event attracts more than 400 participants annually from Europe and other parts of the world.


 The EARIE 2014 conference will take place at the Bocconi University in Milan. The link to the conference website is http://www.earie2014.org/.





Milan, Italy’s finance, banking, fashion and design capital, is an intriguing city that manages to blend history, art, fashion and fun perfectly. Lying at the foothills of The Alps, Milan is a stone’s throw away from the Italian lakes: Lake Maggiore, Lake Como, Lake Garda, and the lesser known but equally beautiful Lake Orta and Lake Iseo. Moreover, the renowned Italian Riviera is only a one-hour drive away from Milan. We recommend spending a few extra days after the Congress to unwind here. To get more information about Milan and its surroundings, please visit the dedicated pages on the conference website.





All interested researchers are invited to submit their papers for presentation at the EARIE 2014 conference, starting from 1 February 2014 until 15 March 2014, by means of the online paper submission system available at http://www.webmeets.com/earie/2014/.


 Submissions must be in PDF format, with a maximum file size of 2 MB. Absolutely no other file formats will be considered. For the complete submission guidelines, please visit the relevant pages on the EARIE 2014 Webmeets submission site (link above).



Submission deadline: 15 March 2014





The EARIE 2014 conference program will consist of contributed sessions and invited sessions, as selected by the EARIE 2014 Scientific Committee, chaired by Heski Bar-Isaac (Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto, Canada).


We are pleased to announce the invited keynote speakers for EARIE 2014:


Patrick Rey (Toulouse School of Economics)

 Matthew Gentzkow (University of Chicago Booth School of Business)

 Michael Whinston (MIT Sloan Management)


We are also pleased to announce that the following people have agreed to speak at the invited sessions – James Dana (Northeastern University), Maria Guadalupe (INSEAD), Hugo Hopenhayn (University of California at Los Angeles), Andrei Hagiu (Harvard Business School), Roman Inderst (University of Frankfurt), Louis Kaplow (Harvard Law School), Navin Kartik (Columbia University), Robin Lee (New York University), David Myatt (London Business School), Raffaella Sadun (Harvard Business School), Mark Schankerman (London School of Economics), Kathy Spier (Harvard Law School), Andrew Sweeting (University of Maryland) and Joel Watson (University of California at San Diego).


 Further information regarding the conference programme will be posted on the EARIE 2014 conference website http://www.earie2014.org as it becomes available.




The main purpose of the Young Economists’ Essay Awards (YEEAs) is to encourage young researchers to participate in the EARIE Annual Conference. The awards are meant for exceptionally innovative and high-level papers written by researchers who: (a) are under the age of 35, and (b) have completed their PhD less than 5 years ago. For papers with multiple  authors, each author should satisfy both the criteria (a) and (b). Each year, one of the YEEAs is dedicated to the late Paul Geroski. This dedication is given to the paper that makes the most significant policy contribution. This year will be the 9th time that EARIE bestows this award in Paul Geroski’s memory.


NOTE: If you wish to be considered for this award at EARIE 2014, please indicate this in the corresponding checkbox on the EARIE 2014 paper submission form.



 If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at earie2014@unibocconi.it


Michele Polo (Chair)


Chiara Fumagalli


Alfonso Gambardella


Marco Ottaviani



Local Organizing Committee, EARIE 2014

 EARIE PLACE DE BROUCKERE PLEIN 31 1000 BRUSSELS, BELGIUM Tel: +32 2 226 66 65 | Fax: +32 2 512 19 29